Skip to content

How StarTech.com lost a customer

April 22, 2009

One of the pitfalls for being an authorized purchaser for our department involves sites where the only way to order is by establishing an account. Tech Lady often has an account, but I do not, mainly because it doesn’t make sense to establish accounts for each of the dozens of widget vendors and bald eagle head salespeople we might patronize every month.

When Tech Lady e-mails me a link, I find no way to just plain old buy the thing, so I start writing up a new account under my boss’s name, because that’s the name on our purchasing card. Midway through, it requires me to tell them my boss’s title, department and how many employees we have. Aside from the fact that a) the proper options aren’t available and b) we’re a 45-person office in a university with 10K employees, so we’re splitting hairs here, IT’S NONE OF THEIR BUSINESS.

So I go back and redo it with Tech Lady’s info, which of course it rejects because Tech Lady already has an account. I could call her up and ask her password, but that’s not really my business, and — again — it would be a pain to do this for every vendor we work with.

So I take advantage of the handy 800 number on the homepage and try it that way.

“Hi, I’d like to order the keyboard anti-static mat.”

“Unfortunately, we only do ordering online.”

“Okay, what about that nice big header above the toll-free number on your homepage that says, ‘Order online or by phone’?”

“That’s for our bigger customers, like warehouses and resellers.”

“Uh huh. Guess I’ll be hanging up now.”

“Thanks for calling StarTech!”

At that point, I decided StarTech wasn’t getting any of our money, so I Googled it and hey! It’s available in a bunch of other places, some cheaper. Within 5 minutes I’d filed paperwork from a completed order with one Comp-U-Plus.

“Making hard-to-find easy,” my ass.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 5:21 pm

    Hi Susannah,

    I’m the Marketing Communications Manager at StarTech.com. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience trying to order one of our products! Our goal is to make hard-to-find easy for all our customers and we obviously did not do that for you.

    I’d love to get your feedback on how we could improve our ordering process. If you have a moment, please send me an email at astephen@startech.com.

    We truly value your feedback and once again, I apologize for not making it easy for you to order our products!

    Best Regards,

    Andrew Stephen

Leave a Reply

  • Find me!

  • LinkedIn
  • Delicious
  • Ravelry
  • Tweet me!

  • Recent Work

  • Director shares her passion for languages
  • Secretary seeks common ground among staff
  • Poet, alumnus returns to campus for landmark reading
  • Course adds to environmental awareness
  • Humanities connects with state via books, food
  • Recent Comments

    Jacquilynne on links for 2010-03-03
    Maidenvoyage (Vaness… on I see Ames!
    Kim on link dump for 2009-07-14
    yasutora on Here’s why I REALLY hate…
    TJ on links for 2009-06-13
  • bureaucracy customer service family forums hdtv introduction journalism knitting netflix new media newspapers personal phones stupid television tivo web sites Web vendors wikipedia
  • Top Posts

  • April 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Blog Stats

  • "YOU are not the whippersnapper. EVERYONE ELSE is a whippersnapper." (Mary Beth Anzovino)
